An Ode To Cambodia

I wrote this before I departed from Cambodia and Vishnu Law Group in March. Though it was a bittersweet goodbye, I am stoked to be returning to Cambodia once again this June…

Another transition is upon me. After spending two years working in western China, along the Mekong, and throughout Cambodia, I’m headed home. It is bittersweet to say farewell to this semi-nomadic life, but I feel that it is right to put down roots in my home country and work there to spread as much compassion as I possibly can. But before I depart Cambodia, I composed a note on why I love this country…

When I think of you I feel the adrenaline fueled smirk spread across my face from hopping curbs and pulling off “oh that was too close” maneuvers on my bike through your chaotic traffic. You are anything but shy in announcing your presence through the smoke of charcoal barbeques, selling “bai set chrouk” to the masses. The joyous and playful sounds of tuk-tuk and moto-dop drivers squatting and gambling around a table of cards, sipping beers at all to inappropriate hours. There is nothing that I would rather wake up next to than the daily yells and echo of street hawkers shouting “nnnoomme bang” or “bong mawn ang” that fill the pre-dawn glow of my room. The vibrant color of market women wearing pajamas all day, everyday. You overwhelm my senses.

You always know what is best for me. Your seasonal fruit and coconut vendors have kept me healthy and hydrated. Your running bongs community motivates me to continue to run in a brutally hot and humid climate, through narrow alleys that provide a rapid-fire glimpse into your diversity and resilient ingenuity. The activity and amalgamation of static filled dance music that surrounds your Olympic Stadium, instills excitement before dreaded interval workouts.

You always interact and speak to me with “sohk-sabaay” smiles and laughter. Even through discussions of your troubled past and political crises, you brim with optimism for future generations. Though your obsession and overuse of Facebook can annoy, I begrudgingly grin at your selfie shenanigans and indulge in emoticon filled conversations .

I remember when we first met in 2013, my immature self, rushing towards the next destination and experience to be had. Yet you kept pulling me back with the red and orange illumination of your twilight hours, urging me to slow down and be present. The hours spent embraced in hammocks, your rural touch, has brought us closer and for which I will surely find myself reminiscing and savoring with times passing. You are truly “sa’at”, Cambodia. I’ll miss you dearly…

17190479_10208587806193317_553208041184428559_n

About Brendon Thomas

The purpose of this blog was to initially document my service with the Peace Corps in The Peoples Republic of China (2011-2013) and other relevant travel experiences. My graduate studies found me returning to Cambodia and falling in love with Myanmar. Since graduation I spent a short and very much nomadic stint teaching for an experiential education company called 'Where There be Dragons'. I then spent time working in Phnom Penh, Cambodia on the country's Environmental Code and am now based in Chiang Mai, Thailand as part of my work with EarthRights International. ---- “Sentiment without action is the ruin of the soul.” -Edward Abbey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment